Refine your search

Sale Section

Estimate

Filter by Price Range

Category

Brand

Item Type

Auction Details

Timed Auction of Vintage and Antiquarian Books

1818 Auctioneers Timed Online Auction Ended 12 Jul 2020 18:59 BST

Sale Date(s)

  • Ended 12 Jul 2020 18:59 BST
Milnthorpe, Cumbria

Venue Address

  • Junction 36 Auction Centre
  • Crooklands
  • Milnthorpe
  • Cumbria
  • LA7 7FP
  • United Kingdom

Auction Details

Important Information Terms & Conditions Print Catalogue
Currency: GBP
Buyer's premium Inc. VAT/sales tax: 20.00%
Online commission inc. VAT/sales tax: 6.00%

Auctioneer Details

You’re currently pending approval by the auctioneer. In the meantime you can continue to place bids from the lot page which will be accepted once you’re approved.
There are 63 item(s) within this sale
  • List
  • Grid
  • Lots per page
  • 60
  • 120
  • 240
Page of 2

A subscription to the Price Guide is required to view results for auctions ten days or older. Click here for more information

A typewritten letter signed by Alfred Wainwright and dated 23rd July 1974 from his home address on Kendal Green to Mrs Pedley, the R.S.P.C.A West...

Natural History. Morris, Rev. F. O. - A History of British Butterflies. London: John C. Nimmo, 1895. Eighth edition. Complete with 79 coloured pla...

Tarot. Nordic, Rolla K. - The Tarot Shows the Path: Divination Through the Tarot. London: Regency Press, 1960. Publisher's cloth, in dust wrapper ...

First Edition. Johns, Captain W. E. - Biggles Flies South. London: Oxford University Press, 1938. Publisher's buff coloured cloth with shield desi...

Children's. Awdry, Rev. W. - Stepney The 'Bluebell' Engine. London: Edmund Ward, 1963. 1st. No.18 in the series. No dust wrapper. Loosely tipped i...

A selection of 1930's Bibby's Calendar Sheets, illustrated, each advertising a Bibby's Agricultural feed product. Each mounted in a card frame. (7)

Presentation Copy. The Memoirs of Field-Marshal The Viscount Montgomery of Alamein. London: Collins, 1958. 4th impression. In dust wrapper. Inscri...

Children's. Aesop's Fables. Illustrated by Nora Fry. London: George G. Harrap & Co. 1927. With 8 colour plates and numerous text illustrations. Pu...

Children's. [Byron, May] - Cecil Aldin's Happy Family. London: Henry Frowde/Hodder & Stoughton. 1912. Illus. with 36 plates by Aldin. Couple of pl...

West Indies & Maritime interest. The West India Pilot - volume I (1893, 5th edition); volume II (1887, 4th edition); and two supplement volumes (...

Folding Maps. North Wales interest. J. & A. Walker - To Lieut. General the Most Honorable the Marquis of Anglesey, K.G.G.C.B, Lord Lieut. Custos R...

Antiquarian. [Mary Collyer, trans.] - The Death of Abel, In Five Books. London: Printed for R. And J. Dodsley, 1762. Second edition. Octavo, xxiv,...

Art. Salwey, Charlotte M. - Fans of Japan. London: Kegan Paul, Trench, Trubner, & Co. Ltd. 1894. With 10 colour plates and numerous text illustra...

Illustrated. Dickens, C. - A Christmas Carol. London: William Heinemann, 1915. Illustrated by Arthur Rackham, 12 colour plates and numerous b&w il...

Miscellaneous. Francatelli, C. E. - The Cook's Guide, and Housekeeper's & Butler's Assistant: &c. London: Richard Bentley, 1870. Twenty-Fifth Tho...

Art. The Durer Society. Portfolio volumes for 1900 (third series) & 1905 (eighth series). 1900 portfolio with 29 of 31 plates & 1905 portfolio wi...

Miscellaneous. Warner, H. H. - Songs of the Spindle & Legends of the Loom. London: N. J. Powell & Co. 1889. Illustrated. Original buckram cloth, s...

Gender History. Davies, Margaret Llewelyn - The Women's Co-Operative Guild 1883-1904. Kirkby Lonsdale: 1904. Illustrated. Original cloth. With sta...

Local Interest. A selection, includes; The Watcher by the Bridge (2nd imp. 1937); The Doings of a Country Solicitor (1947); etc. (7)

Antiquarian. R. P. Cornelii Cornelii - A Lapide E Societate Jesu, Commentaria in Vetus Et Novum Testamentum. Venetiis [venice] Ex Typographia Ball...

Antiquarian. Potter, R. - The Tragedies of Aeschylus. Norwich: Printed by J. Crouse, 1777. Quarto. xxviii, 602pp with subscribers list and additio...

Antiquarian. Richardi Bentleii [Richard Bentley] - Q. Horatius Flaccus, ex Recensione & cum Notis Atque Emendationibus. Editio Altera. Amsterdam: ...

Antiquarian Odd Volumes. A small selection, includes; Francisco Turrettino - Institutio Theologiae Elencticae (pars secunda). Geneva: 1689; etc. (...

Limited edition. Austen, Jane - The Complete Works of Jane Austen: The Illustrated Library. The Works 'Special Limited Edition'. No.0294 of 5000. ...

Antiquarian. Pope, A. - The Iliad of Homer. London: Ingram, Cooke, and Co. 1853. Two volumes. Introduction and notes by Rev. Buckley. Illustrated ...

Samuel Johnson and related. A selection, includes; The Lives of the Poets of Great Britain and Ireland. Dublin: J. Moore, 1795. Modern quarter lea...

Japanese. Two late Nineteenth century illustrated volumes, most likely published in Tokyo around the 1880's (Meiji era). One book is entitled 'Tor...

French design. Two part works. First: Habert-Dys - Nouveaux Documents Decoratifs en Couleurs: Ornements, Fleurs, Oiseaux, Panneaux, Tentures, Bord...

Flower-Painting. Tessier, Louis & Fils, Jean-Baptiste Monnoyer - Bouquets. London: Country Life Ltd. No date, circa 1920's. Limited edition, no.1...

Miscellaneous. Vere Foster's Drawing-Books. Sketches in Water Colors, by Various Artists. London: Blackie & Son, 1886. With nine plates, original ...

Antiquarian. Kusterus, Ludolphus - Suidae Lexicon, Graece & Latine. Cantabrigiae: Typis Academicis, 1705. VOLUME ONE ONLY. Folio. Contemporary ful...

Art. Zollner, Frank - Leonardo da Vinci: The Complete paintings and Drawings. Taschen: 2003. In dust wrapper. With; Finch, C. - The Art of Walt Di...

Reginald Farrer. A selection, includes; The Rainbow Bridge, 1926, 3rd impression, publisher's cloth; Alpines and Bog-Plants, 1908, 1st, publisher'...

Religious History. Butler, Rev. A. & Kelly, Rev. B. - The Lives of The Fathers, Martyrs and other Principal Saints. Virtue & Co. Circa 1930's. Six...

Local History. A selection, includes; Barber, H. - Furness and Cartmel Notes (1894); West, T. & Close, W. - The Antiquities of Furness (1818); wit...

Antiquarian. [Simond, Louis] - Journal of a Tour and Residence in Great Britain, during the years 1810 and 1811, by a French Traveller &c. Edinbur...

Natural History. A selection, includes; Huxley, T. H. - The Oceanic Hydrozoa. London: Ray Society, 1859. With 12 plates at rear; Flower, W. H. - R...

Local History. Bardsley, Charles W. - Chronicles of the Town & Church of Ulverston. James Atkinson: 1885. With real photo illustrations. Original ...

Local History. Softabck miscellany. Including; Forsyth, Jennifer - Cartmel Fell: A Patchwork History (2007) presentation copy; other signed titles...

Lake District and environs. A carton of histories, topography, guides, etc. Including Wainwright pictorial guide reprints, etc. (quantity)

Geology, Petrology and Environmental Sciences. Two cartons. Specialist textbooks and monographs, hardback and softback, some ex-lib. (32)

Geology, Petrology and Environmental Sciences. Two cartons. Specialist textbooks and monographs, hardback and softback, some ex-lib. (45)

Maritime and Naval. A carton. Includes; Uffa Fox - Sailing, Seamanship and Yacht Construction (1936); Uffa Fox's Second Book (1937); Claud Worth -...

Miscellaneous. Cotchett, L. E. - The Evolution of Furniture. London: Batsford, 1938; Pallis, M. - Peaks and Lamas. London: Cassell, 1946; etc. (4)

Wainwright. A selection, includes; Kendal in the Nineteenth Century (SIGNED); Lakeland Mountain Drawings: volume two; Welsh Mountain Drawings (ex-...

Signed Copy. Wainwright in Lakeland. Kendal: Abbot Hall Art Gallery, 1983. Signed on half-title. In dust wrapper. (1) Condition report - A 'goo...

Wainwright. A selection of sketchbooks and pictorial guides. Various impressions, most in dust wrappers. Includes a signed copy of Ex-Fellwanderer...

Botany. A carton. Includes; Kingdon Ward, F. - The Riddle of the Tsangpo Gorges. London: 1926; Wright, W. P. - Alpine Flowers and Rock Gardens. L...

Botany - Orchids. A carton. Includes; Hillerman & Holst - An Introduction to the Cultivated Angraecoid Orchids of Madagascar. 1986; Graham & Roy -...

Naval & Maritime. A selection, includes; Jane, Fred T. - Fighting Ships. 1912. All ex-library with usual markings. Provenance: Barrow Library. (8)

Local History and Topography. A carton. Ex-library, with usual markings. Most in original bindings, includes; Whitehall in Cumberland (1865), etc....

Local History and Topography. A carton. Ex-library, all uniformly re-bound in blue library cloth. Includes; Whiteside - Shappe in Bygone Days (190...

Miscellaneous. A carton. Mainly large format. Includes; Searle - Turnpikes and Toll-Bars. 1930. Two volumes; Batty's Catalogue of Copper Coinage....

Loading...Loading...
  • Lots per page
  • 60
  • 120
  • 240
Page of 2

Recently Viewed Lots